Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) is the world’s leading youth achievement award.

Nationally, it gives millions of 14 to 24-year-olds the opportunity to be the very best they can be. 

QE pupils on a DofE Award trip

The Duke Of Edinburgh Award is available to students in Years 8 and above.
Rich History Of Self-Development

Since it began in 1956, the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award has been inspiring, guiding and supporting young people in their self-development and recognising their achievements.



Duke Of Edinburgh's Award Levels

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is a personal programme of activities that students can complete at three levels:  

  • Bronze (for students aged 14 and older – Year 10 and above) 
  • Silver (for students aged 15 and older – Year 11 and above) 
  • Gold (for students aged 16 and older – Year 12 and above)

Queen Ethelburga’s offers the award at all three levels.

Students can progress through each award or commence the Silver award as direct entrants. Students achieve the Bronze and Silver Awards by completing a four-section activity programme, whereas the Gold Award requires students to complete five sections. The sections are:

  • Volunteering: Students give their time to support the school or wider community, e.g. visiting a retirement home or helping out at sports day with the younger children.
  • Skill: Students broaden their knowledge and skills, e.g. learning to play a new musical instrument
  • Physical: Students carry out a physical activity, e.g. football, swimming, tennis, netball, hockey, gymnastics
  • Expedition: Students plan and complete a two or four-day walking expedition where they carry their equipment, cook meals and camp overnight for one-three nights
  • Residential (Gold only): Students spend a minimum of four days away from home to carry out physical or volunteering activities with people they have not met before.